Home

eye fi

 

I love the feeling of being anonymous in a city I’ve never been to. You walk down a street where you know no one, you enter a restaurant where you get to eat something you’ve never tasted before, and the people around you speak in a language you aren’t familiar of. These are a few things only travel can provide you. That is why it is often said that the real voyage of discovery is not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes. You sense it, you feel it and you discover a place in a completely new way unlike anyone has ever done before.
Something magical about travel are the visual connections you go through.
You might have noticed oftentimes when you walk down a street or when you’re waiting in an airport lounge you make eye contacts with a few people more than often (I am not talking about creeps who stare for no reason). You can’t take your eyes off them, you tend to always look back and so does the other person. By saying this I don’t mean that you’re attracted to that person physically and neither do I call it love at first sight. I think it is a relationship which lasts for a couple of minutes, where the people involved know nothing about each other but still find the other person gaze worthy. Sometimes I feel like going up to that person to say hi. But I don’t do that and I think no one should, as that unknown barrier acts as the velvet rope which separates something ordinary from extraordinary. What would you call such a connection?

I have had many such connections lately and I feel really good. Neither of us expected anything or depended on each other. But something I knew was that the person with whom I just made an eye contact was someone special. As you might never look at the person in the eyes again, in either of your lives…

2 thoughts on “Look: A visual connection

Leave a Reply

