Home

8056196788_c35dc345cb_h

I enjoy walking, be it long adrenaline pumping walks during a trek or a relaxing walk on the beach after sunset. Both are extreme in their own ways but I’ve great memories of such walks – I met new people from around the world, got to see some stunning sceneries, walked barefoot on fresh grass and once slipped off a ridge of ice during a solo trek, when my heart almost popped out of my mouth (I luckily survived)! Though I treasure such memories but I somehow could always anticipate the kind of experience I would be having (they can never be bad). But a walk from a colleague’s house last night after dinner was good enough for this blog post.

In a pair of comfortable linen shorts and flipflops, I chose to walk the entire stretch of around four kilometres all alone, instead of taking a rick (tuk-tuk) or being dropped by another colleague. Normally I have a habit of walking really fast, take really long steps and overtaking everyone on the road. I’ve no idea why I do so; probably I had to keep pace with really tall uncles and my brother when I was a kid. But a slow walk down an empty street with twinkling road markers and speeding cars was quite a cherishing experience last night.

The otherwise busy roads during the day swarming with vehicles (with headstrong drivers) and people in a rush, at night seemed so different with almost deserted roads and pavements. The difference was striking! Though the walk seemed like an effort after a while as I was feeling tired, but I planned on continuing. I smiled at myself when I was about to step off the pavement to cross a road and the signal turned from yellow to red, with cars coming to a screeching halt to make a safer way for me. With some great British folk rock for company everything seemed to happen in a rhythm and I felt I was walking out of a music video (you can LOL for that). The last one kilometer stretch had almost no presence of humans in this busy city apart from occasional dog barks. I kept on walking as the soothing pre-monsoon wind brushed against my face and I finally reached home for a good night’s sleep.
Though it probably wasn’t the best midnight walk as I didn’t have some otherworldly voice for company or hands to hold onto, but nonetheless I was surprised to enjoy this un-timed walk after a tiring day at work. I am glad that I chose to walk.

You should, too. 🙂

One thought on “Take a walk

  1. Pingback: How Walking Can Change the World | Dylan Rainwalker

Leave a Reply

