Home

doi maach

Cooking as I have recently discovered gives me pleasure, no matter how long I work or how tired I feel. If I get a nice kitchen and something worthy enough for the effort, I don’t think twice. I hit the kitchen after a relaxing shower.

Though I’ve been brought up in Calcutta, I was never really a big fan of fish, I used to hate it rather. But now that I don’t have easy access to good and fresh fish I started valuing it more than ever before and now cooking fish is like a small celebration for me. I go easy on oil keeping the nutritional value and the taste intact ( I think) and recently I had the chance to cook fish again.

Thursday night with friends, with doi maach (fish in yoghurt sauce) and steamed rice for dinner seemed perfect. Though presentation wise I don’t feel content as in a hurry i broke a few pieces while defrosting the fish, but it turned out to be decent enough for a good meal. Being the only Bengali (well partially) it was fun to watch my friends toiling with the fish bones as it hardly seemed like an effort for me. I ate with my hands after quite sometime, sat on the floor and ate like the way bengali fish and rice should be eaten. I was happier as a person for the taste and the appreciation.

Recipe:

  • Rohu fish (kind of carp) cut into 1 to 1.5 inch thick slices 750 gms
  • Plain yoghurt 1.5 cups
  • 2 medium sized onions finely grated
  • 1 tbsp ginger paste
  • 1tbsp garlic paste
  • 1 tbsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tbsp chilli powder
  • 4 black peppercorns
  • 2 green cardamom
  • 1″ stick of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp ghee or mustard oil
  • 1 bayleaf

Cooking time: 30 minutes

Mix yoghurt, ginger and garlic paste, chilli powder and turmeric in a bowl. Mix it thoroughly (you can blend it as well). Coat the fish with the paste properly and marinate it for a couple of hours.

Heat ghee in a pan and put the cinnamon, peppercorn, cardamom and bay leaves and fry them well (dark0, approximately 5 minutes in medium flame.

Add marinated fish and keep stirring occasionally without breaking the pieces. Season with salt and cook for 20-25 minutes.

Serve with streamed rice.

Fish in yoghurt sauce is good for health and hardly requires any effort. So try this at home and share your experiences. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Fish in Yoghurt sauce (Doi maach)

Leave a Reply

