Home

IMG_20131230_151038

I am huge fan of street food, no matter where I go or how inviting a fine dinning restaurant may seem to me (even though at times I swoon over such places) but as I’ve said,for me the magic lies in the streets. I believe in spending money on something made by an individual on the street rather than scavenging into my savings for a fine dinning experience with a view, live kitchen and all that jazz all presented with a huge price tag by a corporate. I enjoy them as long as I don’t pay 😉

I will take you 15 months back and I’d share an experience. I was holidaying with a bunch of friends from school on a shoe string budget. On a beautiful and breezy wintery afternoon I was scanning the streets for street food joints of Puducherry. To my disappointment I didn’t find any. All I could find were closed tea stalls. We finally decided to have lunch at a restaurant (which looked like any other colonial building of the town) Pudu Pudu. It was a small restaurant, without any decor and an imposing bar on the right, once you enter(going by the size of the place).

A hearty lunch at Pudu Pudu, changed my perception of east coastal Indian cuisine forever. I had the perfect bunch of friends for company who love to eat and were equally excited about trying out the local cuisine. It was one of the most memorable meals I’ve ever had. The taste and the aroma of the brilliantly cooked Mutton Chukka and Prawn chettinad was probably the reason why it falls in that category. Thanks to Vrinda for spotting the restaurant as I didn’t want to go in initially, but seeing everyone going in; I also followed and that did that trick. The restaurant scored a perfect 10/10.

The greatness of the taste and the aroma as I’ve mentioned makes it one of the most celebrated curries I’ve ever eaten. Since the memories of the curry has a special place in my mind and heart, I thought I’d cook the same for my mother on her birthday. Though it was nowhere close to what I had in Puducherry, but everyone was happy the way it turned out and so was I.

Cooking time: 1 hour 20 minutes approx.

Recipe:

Mutton:  1 kg clean cut in medium size pieces.

Marinate the mutton in room temperature with salt, turmeric for 90 minutes.

For the paste:

1 cup coconut milk

Ginger( thumb size) and 8-10 pods of garlic

4-5 cloves

1 tbsp pepper corns

2 tsp chilli powder

1 tbsp cumin seeds

1 tbsp fennel seeds

100 gms Shallots

Put them in the mixer and make a thick paste. You can add 1/3rd cup of water to it and 5/6 cashews. (Optional)

Apply the paste thoroughly on the pieces of mutton and let it marinate for another 30 minutes.

For sauteing:

3 pieces cinnamon

2 tsp coriander powder

½ tsp mustard seeds

2-3 tomatoes sliced

2 large size onions chopped

3 tbsp oil

—–

Pressure cook the mutton in medium flame for 25-30 minutes

Take a cast iron wok and heat the oil in it.

Add mustard seeds and let the splutter.

Add cinnamon and the fennel seeds.

Add curry leaves and chopped onions and cook them till they are golden grown.

Add the tomatoes and cook till the onion and the tomato mixes well.

Add the mutton and cook till it becomes less watery and the oil separates form the curry. Add the coriander powder 5 minutes before switching off the flame.
Cover it up and don’t let the aroma escape.

Garnish with coriander leaves, cashews.

Tastes great with pipping hot rice.

One thought on “Aromatic Mutton Chettinad

  1. Pingback: Mutton cooked with green lentils | The Culinary Journey

Leave a Reply

