Home

f7c757651735a78114c86cc4c1233bf6_1390626239

The restaurant scene in Delhi is souping up, with as many as 20 or more 5 star properties opening their doors to the high flyers in the Aero city; giving rise to a plethora of opportunities for global restaurateurs to open up their flagship branches here. While Yauatcha is already having complete sell out dinners and has further expansion plans in the pipeline, Akira Black has thrown open its doors at the swanky, newly built JW Marriott, and the magic created by Michellin starred Francesco Apreda of Travertino has been capturing headlines among others. This boom also opened up opportunities for brilliant small (mid-range) restaurants at the unlikeliest of places.

Hauz Khas village is the restaurant hotspot near my neighborhood, other restaurants which have opened up in the near proximity have failed to grab attention, as the properties in the village do. But hey! The guys at The monkey think otherwise, setting up a restaurant sprawling over two floors across the deer park in a quiet and not so happening Safdarjung market was quite a surprise for me when I first heard about it. Beautifully done up wooden interiors, some stunning typography work and illustrations by Kriti Monga, worn out white brick walls, an open kitchen and surprisingly good food makes the place a stunner!

Do drop in, this place overlooking the park is unquestionably relaxing. Food wise, I would recommend “the bomb” (go for rare) it is “Delicious” and quite filling (I couldn’t order a beef steak as recommended by Abhishek- manager after finishing off the burger in no time.) Though this steak is not in their menu but I would be impressed if I get something like a Biscetta Fonrtiana the next time I go and order it. Since the place is yet to get an alcohol serving license, I will have to wait till I pair up my steak with some great Pinot Noir.  Apart from my main course, I also liked the French onion soup, the calamari fritti with their killer wasabi Aioli and the cold spinach gomae.

Well there are a lot of reasons why this place deserves a blog entry,  it is not morbidly expensive, located right next to my house, has outdoor seating- overlooking the deer park, thoughtfully done interiors, terrific attention to detail (loved the brass inlaid typography on my table), relaxing environment and away from all the chaos. You can pull a chair and read a book on the terrace while enjoying a drink, come on a date for some champagne (once they start serving) and dessert or get your friends and book the table as shown in the picture and have a gala time as well. Though I haven’t had the chance to try out a good number of dishes to gauge their culinary expertise, but “the bomb” (tenderloin burger) is surely going to make me visit this place soon…So the next time if you want to go out for dinner, yet would like to feel the comfort of home and have a great time I would recommend you to drop in here 🙂

Photograph courtesy: Zomato.

Leave a Reply

